Planning Commission


In Pennsylvania, planning commissions are primarily responsible for and charged with exercising a municipality’s legal right to develop a comprehensive plan that outlines its specific community planning objectives that may focus on environmental protection; agricultural, historical, and cultural resource preservation; business retention, expansion, and recruitment; urban redevelopment; housing opportunities; parks and recreation amenities; transportation and utility infrastructure; or other health, safety, and public welfare needs and issues that are critical to community’s overall wellbeing and prosperity.

As such, planning commissions are on the front line regarding the issues that matter most to many communities. Their leadership is crucial in developing recommendations for implementing change as well as promoting responsible and sustainable community planning practices that have not only local implications, but multimunicipal and regional implications as well.

Planning Commission members are appointed by the Borough Council.


Meetings are held on the 3rd Wednesday of each month @7:00 P.M. in the Council Chambers on the 2nd Floor of the Borough Building
Work Sessions: 1st, 2nd, 4th and 5th Wednesday @ 7:00 P.M. if called by the Chair. Check with the Chair or Recording Secretary to see if there is a work session.


Kevin Kirkwood, Chair, Term Expires 2021
Patty Bucco, Vice-Chair/ Secretary, Term Expires 2022,
Rich Dorkoski, Term Expires 2021
Michael Penn, Term Expires 2020
Haynes Velasco, Term Expires 2021

Alternate Planning Commission Members

Nancy Folger, Term Expires 2023
Colleen McGuire, Term Expires 2023

Borough Council Planning & Zoning Committee: Patty Bucco & Mayor Michael Penn

Planning Commission Recording Secretary:  Diana, 570-839-8436, Fax: 570-839-8436  Communications to the Planning Commission may be sent via the Planning Commission Recording Secretary (unless otherwise required by law, regulation, or ordinance)

(minutes are posted in place of the agenda after the minutes are approved, usually at the next regular meeting)

January 17
February 21
March 21 (no meeting)
April 18 (no meeting)
May 16
June 20
July 18
August 15
September 19
October 17
November 21
December 19